Local Organising Committee

Simon Cole


Simon is the Nannopalaeontology Departmental Manager at PetroStrat. Graduating from University College London (MSc Micropalaeontology) in 2004, Simon moved straight into industry and has since been with PetroStrat for 18 years. Simon has spent more than 3 years (not all at once!) of his career offshore, spread over about 70 different wellsite jobs from biosteering in the North Sea to exploration and development wells across Europe, Africa, Asia and the Americas. This mixed in with the analysis of 100’s of well sections from the office, gives Simon a diverse knowledge spanning nannofossil history and geographies. Simon was brought up in the equally beautiful countryside of southwest England – the Jurassic Coast – but is proud to be part of the organising committee for INA19 Conwy and showing off his adopted home of Wales. Simon’s first INA conference was INA10 in Lisbon (2004) where many friends and memories were made – he wishes the same be true for you at INA19 whether it be your first or 19th INA!

Tamsin Lawrence


Tamsin is a senior Nannopalaeontologist at PetroStrat, working both in the office and offshore. A graduate of the University of Plymouth, with a masters in micropalaeontology from UCL, she started her career at Fugro Robertson (now CGG), before joining PetroStrat in early 2010. Tamsin has global experience, having worked on diverse sections from all corners of the World, and covering the entire stratigraphic column of nannoplankton history! She has a particular fondness for the Cretaceous chalks of the North Sea, and loves a challenging geosteering job offshore! A keen hiker of the North Wales countryside, particularly the coast paths of Anglesey and the Snowdonia National Park, she is excited to be involved in organising the upcoming INA19 meeting and to welcome everyone to beautiful North Wales!

Andrea Pardon


Emma Sheldon


Scientific Commitee

  • Simon Cole (PetroStrat Ltd. – conveyor)
  • Emanuela Mattioli (Université Lyon)
  • Jeremy Young (UCL)
  • Paul Bown (UCL)
  • Rosalind Rickaby (University of Oxford)
  • Alba Gonzalez-Lanchas (University of Oxford)
  • Emma Sheldon (GEUS, Denmark)
  • Mariem Saavedra (University of Portsmouth)
  • Tom Dunkley Jones (University of Birmingham)
  • Fanny Monteiro (University of Bristol)
  • Joost Devries (University of Bristol)
  • Nicola Wiseman (University of Bristol)
  • Matt Hampton (Network Stratigraphic)
  • Liam Gallagher (Network Stratigraphic)